Oh, Toby.

August 23, 2007

Why you gotta go and break my heart? 9:46 ante meridian on a Thursday morning, and I should be five batches deep by now. But we got a pilot light issue. Won’t stay lit, you see. So I gots to let it cool down so I can my hands all up in his guts.

We here at La Prima use two San Franciscan 25lb drum roasters, gas-fired. The newer one, Abby, is on the left, see, and she’s got a fiery temper (but I know how to sweet-talk her). But the old boy, Toby… I thought we went way back. I thought we were friends. Toby, Toby, Toby.

Why can’t you be like your little sister Abby? I mean, I know she’s newer, but don’t let that get you down. You know I like you more. You know I save all the best coffees for you. So why you gotta go and break my heart? Thank God Toni Braxton already said it for me, otherwise, I don’t know how I’d ever make it through the morning.

Hopefully, you’ll come back to me soon. and we can do some more of this. You know, for old times’ sake.

2 Responses to “Oh, Toby.”

  1. meredith said

    I love it. I’m so glad you are writing…

    Vancouver, eh? I know its beautiful, and close to Seattle. What prompted your inquiry? You looking to relocate?

  2. becca said

    Oh Phil. The Toni Braxton link (a LINK no less!!) really just about takes the proverbial cake. Like most well-placed references to early-90’s-top-40-soft-rock-r&b, I must say.

    With Toby, and Toni, I wish you well.

Leave a Reply

